You need to transfer an iOS app to another Apple Developer account to submit, publish, or republish the app through the new account. You would like to know if all of the data and members will transfer or if users will have to reinstall it and whether you need to republish the app.
- You may have to complete agreements in the Agreements, Tax, and Banking section of Connect before proceeding. Note: A DUNS number should not be required.
- The app must have been approved at some point (if there is a pending update, that is fine).
- Both the transferring & receiving accounts must have an active subscription to the iOS Developer program.
- You must have access to the following info for the receiving account: Recipient's Team Agent Apple ID (the username of the receiving account) and Team ID (a series of numbers & letters found in Apple Developer).
- To transfer an iOS App to Another Developer Account, just follow the steps as outlined in the App transfer overview KB article.
- Transferring an app breaks the certificate chain in Developer, meaning the push notifications will no longer work. If you transfer an app, be sure to contact us ASAP if you can't rebuild the push notification certificate so we can help you.
- The app does not have to be re-published once transferred. but we recommend that it is on the lastest code version to be able to assist you if any issues arise.
- If you do republish the app, to update screenshots and the icon for example, before the app is transferred should not be an issue as long as the changes meet Apple's requirements. After the app is transferred you will need to generate a new app-specific password.
- If you submit the app using the original or new developer account, the process is the same.
- As described in Apple's App Transfer Overview article, "the app retains its reviews and ratings during and after the transfer, and users continue to have access to future updates. Additionally, when an app is transferred, it maintains its Bundle ID".
- App transfers can take some time to register. During this time, the status will read Processing App Transfer
Once the app transfer gets completed, the app will disappear from the transferring account and appear in the My Apps section of the receiving account.
I need help with this
Please sign in to leave a comment.