How to Configure the Sign-Up Feature

Last Updated: Jul 03, 2018 03:29PM PDT

Sign-up is an extremely valuable feature to have enabled in your application. We highly recommend setting up both your Walkthrough and sign-up features.
Whether you wish to create a more pleasing onboarding experience to your app, use it as a lead gen tool, or just want to be able to put a face and name to your customers the Sign-up feature is what you need!

Be sure to also check out our video tutorial on Customer Onboarding and Management.

 

First head to the ‘Build’ step in the CMS. From here on the left you should see the App Onboarding section of the features list with the Sign-up | Log-in item.
 


 

Once enabled you will see the available options to configure your Sign-up and Log-In screens. Each of the cells has its own screen, and once clicked on the preview on the right will show an example of this exact screen.
 


 

Lets break down each of the screens.

  • Sign-up Options screens for new users to create an account
    • Skip Login - This will add a ‘Not Now’ button at the bottom of the screen to allows users to skip.
    • Social Media options - These options will adjust which social media options are available to create an account with.
    • The following screens will allow you to customize the text that is displayed, as well as a birthday intake form.
  • Log-in Screens screens for existing users to log in to the app
    • Reset Password - This cell allows you to customize the text shown on the password reset page


Consent Pop-up (GDPR)
 

This consent feature was initially built as a tool to aid your application for compliance with the GDPR. This consent screen will allow you to ask your app users for consent regarding Email Marketing, Analytics Data sharing, and a consent workflow for users under the age of 16.

We have pre-filled these fields with some example text, please ensure that this is configured in accordance to your business and its compliance for the GDPR. These consent options are directly tied to our software and are not to be used for other messages than their clearly intended purpose. 

  • The Email Marketing consent field is in place to ask your customers if they consent to any email marketing services you may have in place. You will also see a checkmark on the Customers list identifying if the user has consented or not.
  • The Data and Analytics field, when unchecked, will no longer track that users activity when using the app.
  • The Age verification flow is designed to ensure that users under the age of 16 must receive permission to use the application form their parent or guardian. This field is optional to give you more control over your application.

The GDPR requires logging of consent for each user, as well as what the exact consent message was displayed at the time of consent. We have built a logging system that will keep records of this information. There are two other details mentioned in the law:

  1. You are required to periodically show the customers their consent choices.
  2. If the consent message is changed, you will need to show the consent options again.

We have built a solution for both of these. If you adjust the consent messages in any way, your users will be shown this consent popup again the next time they launch the application.



 

* The following options are feature dependent. 

  • Loyalty Sign-up If your users skipped the initial sign-up, or are currently logged out when using the loyalty feature this version of the Sign-up flow will be used. 
    • Settings - These options allow you to set whether account creation is required for the Loyalty feature, and when.
      • Always - For every stamp and redeem the user must be logged in. There will be no ‘Not Now’ skip button.
      • Upon loyalty redemption - The ‘Not Now’ button will be available for normal stamps, but a user must create or login to their account in order to redeem a loyalty. 
      • Never - User is never required to create or sign into an account. The sign-up screen will continue to display, but the ‘Not Now’ skip button will always be available to them to bypass.
      • *Note for PWA product the Always option will be used as with the many scenarios encountered on the browser we must ensure we are honoring the customers stamps/redemptions correctly. 
 

 

  • Reservation Sign-up  When using the Reservations feature with North Park the sign-up screens will be shared. You can customize the headline that is shown here.
 

 

 

Design:
The design settings will be imported from your Global Design, however, you can modify these settings under Custom Design. These settings will be used each time the Sign-up | Log-in screens are displayed, regardless if it's on app launch or when using a feature like Loyalty.

 

Groups (Previously called Membership) If you are using the Groups feature, the Sign Up pages will be different. Please see this article here:

 

*Note: When Sign-up is enabled, the User Accounts section under Settings will be hidden.

 

1biznessappshelp@gmail.com
http://assets0.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete