Offline Caching

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2016 02:37PM PDT
The very first time the user launches an app after installation, they'll be prompted to enable Offline Caching, a feature that allows users to view some app content without an internet connection.





This prompt will only appear once, unless the user deletes and reinstalls the app.
  • If the user selects "No," the app will not load cached content when the device is disconnected from data/WiFi.
  • If the user selects "Yes," the app will begin storing app content in the device's cache each time a tab is loaded with an active connection. The next time the user visits the app without a connection, they'll be able to view this cached content.

Performance
  • Tabs that require a data connection to function will not be available in offline mode. For example, the YouTube Channel, Music, Web Site tabs and even info tabs with dynamic web content stream from the web and therefore cannot perform without an active connection.
  • In order for content to cache, the tab and all sub-menus must be loaded at least once with a live Internet connection. If they have not been loaded previously, the user will see the “Please connect to the internet” prompt.

General Info

Regardless of caching, when a user loads the app, the images will be saved to the device temporarily (while the app is open). Once the app is closed, the data will removed. This temporary storage ensures faster loading times because images do not need to reload each time a specific tab/view is visited. For example, when the user accesses the Contact tab for the first time, the app will load the background image and content. When the user leaves this tab then returns, the content will just be pulled from the device memory so it doesn't need to reload.